Small Claims Court Michigan
Michigan Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Michigan
In small claims Michigan court, you can sue only for money damages, up to $6,500.00. You may have a valid claim for more than $6,500.00, but a judgment in small claims court cannot exceed $6,500.00.You may also file a small claim for up to $1,000.00 due to an automobile accident under the Michigan no-fault law.
In Small Claims Court of Michigan, a small claims matter occurs when you are suing someone for $6,000 or less and want your case to be heard in the small claims division of the district court, instead of in the general civil division of the district court.
Small Claims Court Michigan Fees
The Michigan Small Claims Division Small Claims Court has a money limit of $6,500. Any claim above this amount must be handled in District Court, and you would need to consult an small claims attorney.Michigan Small Claims Division Court describes fee limit $30 for claims up to $600. $50 for claims over $600 up to $1,750 and. $70 for claims over $1,750 up to $6,500. Small Claims Defendants must be sued in the county where they reside or are located, even if that county is different from the county where the plaintiff lives.
Court fee is $30 for lawsuits under $600 (2) $50 for lawsuits of $601-$1,750 & (3) $70 for lawsuits of $1,751-$6,000. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Michigan
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Michigan Small Claims Form
You can get small claims form for Michigan with valid claim for more than $6,500.00, against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Michigan, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.