Small Claims Court Alaska
Alaska Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Alaska
A small claims in Alaska court is a simplified type claims for a person to try to recover money or personal property worth $10,000 or less. If your claim is over $10,000, you can still sue in small claims Alaska court, but you must give up the right to collect any amount over $10,000.
State law determines the amount. The rule of thumb is that you should be asking for less than $10,000 in small claims court. Some states, such as Alaska, offer you a maximum of $3,000 in small claims. Other states, such as Tennessee, offer up to $25,000.
Small Claims Court Alaska FeesIn Alaska Small Claims Courts there is a $50 if the dispute is $2,500 or less; $100 if the dispute is more than $2,500 for Certification of documents $10/first, $3 for each additional, Copy fees per document (not page) $5/first, $3 each additional and For Records research, the fee is $30.00.
A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or other relief allowed by law. The claim can be for no more than $10,000.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Alaska?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Alaska Small Claims Form
You can get small claims form for Alaska in $2500 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Alaska, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.