Small Claims Court New Mexico
New Mexico Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court New Mexico
In New Mexico, the small claims filing limit is $10,000.00. Once the small claims case is filed and served upon the defendant, the defendant has 30 days to file and answer with the courts. If the defendant fails to respond to the small claims case filed against them, you win by default.
In Small Claims Court of New Mexico, any individual, business or corporation may bring a small claims suit for the recovery of money when the amount requested is not more than $10,000. Even if you have a claim for a slightly greater amount, you may choose to limit it to $10,000 to take advantage of the Small Claims Court procedure.
Small Claims Court New Mexico Fees
In New Mexico, the state courts can hear claims of any size. However, the legislature has also created a second set of courts specifically to handle claims of $10,000 or less.
Court fees are (1) $119 for lawsuits under $250 (2) $172 for lawsuits of $251.00-$1,500 (3) $177 for lawsuits of $1,501-$2,500 (4) $227 for lawsuits of $2,501-$5,000 & (5) $247 for lawsuits of $5,001-$10,000. These are Cook County court fees, call us for other counties. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in New Mexico?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
New Mexico Small Claims Form
You can get small claims form for New Mexico in $10,000 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of New Mexico, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.