Small Claims Court Rhode Island
Rhode Island Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Rhode Island
In Rhode Island, Small claims cases are handled in the District Court when the parties are claiming damages of $2,500 or less based upon a contract, a retail sale, or service. A small claims case is designed to dispense speedy and final justice.
In Small Claims Court of Rhode Island, any individual, business or corporation may bring a small claims suit for the recovery of money when the amount requested is not more than $75.75.
Small Claims Court Rhode Island Fees
Small claims Rhode Island cases are handled in the District Court when the parties are claiming damages of $2,500 or less based upon a contract, a retail sale, or a service. A small claims case is designed to dispense speedy and final justice. The filing fee for a small claims case is $75.75. Personal injury cases and cases relating to damages incurred in automobile or other accidents are not heard as a small claims case.
The Court Fee Is $50. Serving Includes Restricted Mail Service & Sheriff/Private Process Options Will Be Provided To You Later During The Procedure. All Fees Are Added To The Case Against The Defendant So You Can Recover These Costs. To File Your Case And Serve Defendant, The Price For This State Is $74.95.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Rhode Island
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Rhode Island Small Claims Form
You can get small claims petition form for Rhode Island then electronically file the appropriate small claims original notice form and pay the $200 filing fee. The official forms to use in Idaho small claims cases are available free of charges.