Small Claims Court Tennessee
Tennessee Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Tennessee
In Tennessee general sessions court, the small claims court limit is $25,000 in a small claims action. The court that handles small claims matters in Tennessee. The limit doesn't apply to eviction or personal property recovery matters.
In Tennessee Small Claims Court, any individual, business or corporation may bring a small claims suit for the recovery of money when the amount requested is $95.99 or less except in Town and Village Courts.
Small Claims Court Tennessee Fees
Tennessee Court is a court of law with civil and criminal jurisdiction. Typically about $150-$200 depending on the county. This is why you want to be sure you ask for court costs in your warrant so that you get your money back from the defendant.
Court fee is $20 & $25 for commercial claims. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving is Included. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Tennessee?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Tennessee Small Claims Form
You can get small claims petition form for Tennessee in $150-$200 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Tennessee, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims.