Small Claims Court Kansas
Kansas Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Kansas
In Small Claims Court of Kansas, any individual, business or corporation may bring a small claims suit for the recovery of money when the amount requested is $4,000 or less. Even if you have a claim for a slightly greater amount, you may choose to voluntarily limit it to $4,000 in order to take advantage of the small claims court procedure.
Small Claims Court Kansas Fees
Court fee is $30. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Kansas?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Kansas Small Claims Form
You can get small claims form for Kansas $47.50 for claims up to $500.00. $67.50 for claims of $500.01 to $4,000 maximum. An additional $15.00 must be included for the sheriff's fee to serve a copy of the papers on the Defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Kansas, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.