Fill out a simple, secure small claims questionnaire


Fast Legal Filing's paralegal will review, research and prepare your case.


Once your Small Claims is drafted, we will send you the doucments with instrcutions.


Small Claims Court Minnesota

Minnesota Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Minnesota

In a small claims action in Minnesota conciliation court, you can ask for up to $15,000. The court that handles small claims matters in Minnesota. The amount for claims involving consumer credit transactions is limited to $4,000.
In Small Claims Court of Minnesota also known as conciliation Court, is where people can have claims of $15,000 or less decided by a judge or referee. If you make your claim for the Conciliation Court limit of $15,000, you cannot ask for more money later for another claim related to the same incident.

Small Claims Court Minnesota Fees

The allowable limits for suing ina small claims action in Minnesota conciliation court, are: $3000.00 maximum for a car accident if the person you are suing had auto insurance (mini-tort). $6500.00 maximum for all other claims. You have three (3) years from the date of the auto accident to file a claim, and six (6) years for most other claims. Filing fees for Small Claims cases are as follows:
Claims from $1.00 to $600.00 -- $30.00 filing fee, Claims from $601.00 to $1,750 -- $50.00 filing fee, Claims from $1,751 to the maximum of $6500.00 -- $70.00 filing fee.
Court fee is $70. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.

How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Minnesota?

There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50.  If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.

Minnesota Small Claims Form

You can get small claims form for Minnesota is generally between $70 and $80 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Minnesota, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.