Small Claims Court Mississippi
Mississippi Small Claims Statute of Limitation - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Mississippi
In Mississippi, small-claims courts are referred to as justice courts. The courts can award a maximum of $3,500, and the statute of limitations for most claims is three years. Thus, you must file the lawsuit within three years of when the incident, be it property damage, injury, or contract breach occurred.
In Small Claims Court of Mississippi, any individual, business or corporation may bring a small claims suit for the recovery of money when the amount requested is $3,500 or less.
Small Claims Court Mississippi Fees
In any lawsuit, including matters brought in the Mississipi Justice Court. You can bring your action against another person or company as long as the recovery amount requested is $3,500 or less . If you’re owed more but would like to take advantage of the small claims court's streamlined procedure, you can limit your recovery to $3,500.
Mississippi Fees Court fee is around $20-$30. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Mississippi?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Mississippi Small Claims Form
You can get small claims petition form for Mississippi court in $3,500.00 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Mississippi, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims.