Fill out a simple, secure small claims questionnaire


Fast Legal Filing's paralegal will review, research and prepare your case.


Once your Small Claims is drafted, we will send you the doucments with instrcutions.


Small Claims Court North-Carolina

North-Carolina Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court North-Carolina

Small claims court is part of the district court division of the North Carolina state court system. Magistrates decide cases in small claims court. The maximum amount of money that can be requested in a small claims case varies by county, from $5,000 to $10,000.
In Small Claims Court of North Carolina, small Claims Court is part of the North Carolina court system where people settle disputes regarding property or money worth $10,000 or less.

Small Claims Court North-Carolina Fees

The North Carolina Small Claims Division Small Claims Court has a money limit of $4,000. Any claim above this amount must be handled in District Court, and you would need to consult an attorney. Defendants must be sued in the county where they reside or are located, even if that county is different from the county where the plaintiff lives.
Court fee is $96. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.

How much does it cost to go to small claims court in North-Carolina?

There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50.  If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.

North-Carolina Small Claims Form

You can get small claims form for North-Carolina in $96 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of North-Carolina, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.