Small Claims Court West Virginia
West Virginia Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court West Virginia
West Virginia Small Claims Court allows residents to file lawsuits for amounts of $5,000 or less. The civil suit process is designed to provide all parties with a way to settle a financial disagreement quickly. In addition to providing a fast and affordable way to get legal relief, West Virginia civil court.
The limit to the amount that a person can sue for in justice court is $6,000. Justice courts can also settle landlord/tenant disputes such as evictions and repairs. If you want more, you'll have to go to another court. But it might not be worth it because of the complicated rules and costs of hiring an attorney.
Small Claims Court West Virginia FeesWest Virginia Small Claims Court allows residents to file lawsuits for amounts of $5,000 or less. File a claim for the judgment amount you're seeking. Claims of less than $300 must be filed in Magistrate Court and claims of $300 to $2,500 can be filed in either Magistrate or Circuit Court. Claims for more than $2,500 are to be filed in Circuit Court. Claim forms can be found at the Circuit and Magistrate Courts.
You can file suits against individuals, corporations, partnerships and other entities.
The limit to the amount that a person can sue for in justice court is $6,000. The filling fee depend upon your case nature and defendant. Here described the following details regarding your case. You can estimate according to your small claims.
Filing Fee (One defendant) - Up to $1,500.00 $52.00 *
Filing Fee (One defendant) - $1,500.01 to $3,000.00 $126.00 *
Filing Fee (One defendant) - $3,000.01 to $6,000.00 $215.00 *
Additional Defendant $10.00 each *
Rules for filing a case in small claims court vary between states and even counties. Before filing your case, be sure to check with your county clerk or an attorney to find out the rules in your state.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in West Virginia
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
West Virginia Small Claims Form
You can get small claims petition form for West Virginia is $20 and $60 one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Alabama, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims.