img1

Fill out a simple, secure small claims questionnaire

img2

Fast Legal Filing's paralegal will review, research and prepare your case.

img

Once your Small Claims is drafted, we will send you the doucments with instrcutions.

 

Small Claims Court North Dakota

North Dakota Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court North Dakota

North Dakota Small Claims Court is a simple way for a person or business to take legal action without hiring an attorney. It handles cases under $15,000 that are less than six years old, including Landlord/tenant disputes, NSF/debt collection, Auto “fender benders”; Contract/payment disputes over goods or services.
In Small Claims Court of North Dakota, any individual, business or corporation may bring a small claims suit for the recovery of money when the amount requested is $15,000.00 or less. Even if you have a claim for a slightly greater amount, you may choose to voluntarily limit it to $4,000 in order to take advantage of the small claims court procedure.

Small Claims Court North Dakota Fees

The allowable limits for suing in a small claims action in North Dakota conciliation court, are $$80 maximum for a car accident if the person you are suing had auto insurance (mini-tort). $ $50.00 maximum for all other claims. You have three (3) years from the date of the auto accident to file a claim, and six (6) years for most other claims.
Court fee is $30. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.

How much does it cost to go to small claims court in North Dakota?

There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50.  If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.

North Dakota Small Claims Form

You can get small claims form for North Dakota $47.50 for claims up to $500.00. $67.50 for claims of $500.01 to $4,000 maximum. An additional  $200.00 must be included for the sheriff's fee to serve a copy of the papers on the Defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of North Dakota, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.