Small Claims Court Virginia
Virginia Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Virginia
In Virginia, each state District Court is required to have a small claims division. Small claims courts have jurisdiction over civil cases in which money or property damages are sought up to five thousand dollars ($5,000). Small claims courts exist to determine the rights of litigants and dispense justice expeditiously.
The limit to the amount that a person can sue for in justice court is $5,000. Justice courts can also settle landlord/tenant disputes such as evictions and repairs. If you want more, you'll have to go to another court. But it might not be worth it because of the complicated rules and costs of hiring an attorney.
Small Claims Court Virginia Fees
In Virginia Small Claims Courts, If your lawsuit is for more than $200, the filing fee is $26, plus $12 for each person or business you are suing. If your lawsuit is for $200 or less, the filing fee is $21, plus $12 for each person or business you are suing. If you win the judgment will include your filing & service fees.
Court fee is around $12.00. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Virginia?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Virginia Small Claims Form
You can get small claims petition form for Virginia in $5,000 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Virginia, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims.