Small Claims Court Louisiana
Louisiana Small Claims Statute of Limitation. - Minimum Amount For Small Claims Court Louisiana
In Small Claims Court of Louisiana, The maximum amount you can sue for in Small Claims Court is $5,000 and the maximum amount you can sue for on the regular Civil docket for this Court is $20,000.
In Small Claims Court of Louisiana, The maximum amount you can sue for in Small Claims Court is $5,000 and the maximum amount you can sue for on the regular Civil docket for this Court is $20,000. Different types of suits may have different time limitations on when a suit must be brought before the filing of the action is prescribed, or barred, by law.
Small Claims Court Louisiana Fees
In the Small Claims Court of Louisiana, The cost to file a civil suit is $201 for one defendant and $30 per each additional defendant. The cost to file a Small Claims suit is $75.50 for one defendant and $35 per each additional defendant. There may be additional costs for service to be made on the defendant, which can vary depending on where service is required and what agency must serve the paperwork.
Court fee is (1) $40 for lawsuits of $500 and under (2) $50 for lawsuits of $501 to $2000 (3) $100 for lawsuits of $2001 to $5000 & (4) $150 for lawsuits of $5001 to $7000. Court fees are applied later during the process and not today. Serving includes restricted mail service & sheriff/private process options will be provided to you later during the procedure. All fees are added to the case against the defendant so you can recover these costs.
How much does it cost to go to small claims court in Louisiana?
There is a $30 filing fee for a case asking for up to $1500. To claim over $1500, and up to $5,000, there is a filing fee of $50. If your claim is above $5,000, the filing fee is $75. If you file more than 12 cases in a year, subsequent cases will cost $100.
Louisiana Small Claims Form
You can get small claims form for Louisiana in $66 against one defendant. If you would like to file small claims in online court of Louisiana, you can file your small claims by hiring small claims attorney and file a state of claims. You can serve the complaint by mail using: Certified, Restricted Delivery/Return Receipt Requested. If the defendant is a corporation, the statutory agent must be served.